Ocean Tot/Preschool: Books

I originally included this in the overview post, but we just read way too many books and it was getting out of control! So, here is a list of all the books we read, and what we thought about them! (Reminder: my kids are ages four and 22 months/nearly two.)

Week One: Tidepools and Ocean Zones

  • Beach Feet by Kiyomi Konagaya (a cute book that my kids liked from a fun perspective – a kid’s feet!)
  • Beach Day by Karen Roosa (illustrations are cute, rhymes are sort of predictable, but my kids liked it)
  • Does Anyone Know Where a Hermit Crab Goes? by Michael Glaser (this one is my book – I got it when I was only a few months old and remember LOVING it as a kid. Luckily my kids like it too! The text level is great for both my kids.)
  • A House for Hermit Crab by Eric Carle (a classic that we had in our library already)
  • Beach Day by Fran Manushkin (a Little Golden Book I loved as a kid. The seatbelt laws are definitely 1988, but the writing style captures the perspective of a four or five year old perfectly.)
  • Let’s Look at the Seashore by Christian Broutin (this book is fun because it comes with a ‘magnifying glass’ to see the pictures, but that meant it was too breakable for Rowen)
  • I Know That! Seashore and Tides (it’s technically an early reader, which meant it was the perfect level to explain tides and tidepools to my four-year-old)
  • Look Inside a Tidepool by Louise Spilsbury (this was also a good level for Damien, although I did skip a few words here and there. Rowen liked identifying the different animals in the pictures.)
  • One Small Place by the Sea by Barbara Brenner (a little wordy for my kiddos, but it would be great for kids a bit older)
  • The Magic School Bus Gets Crabby by Kristin Earhart (even though my kids won’t watch the actual show – much to my chagrin since I was a huge fan as a kid – they LOVED this book. Kids are weird.)
  • Down Down Down by Steve Jenkins (this book was way too wordy for my littles, but the illustrations are AMAZING and it was a really cool way to show them animals from the midnight zone)

Week Two: Fish

  • Hooray for Fish! by Lucy Cousins (this was Rowen’s favorite book we read, but Damien liked it too. They love all the different, albeit not at all scientific, types of fish!)
  • The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister (another classic that we owned and is a little wordy for my kiddos as of yet, so we just leave out words)
  • Sophie’s Fish by A. E. Cannon (I found this book really clever and funny but I think my kids were a little young for it)
  • Fish Had a Wish by Michael Garland (cute, simple)
  • Swim! Swim! by Lerch (by far Damien’s favorite book that we read all month, which we now own)
  • This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen (if you liked his previous book regarding hats, you’ll like this one too!)
  • DK Readers: Fishy Tales (an easily read informational fish book)
  • Cat in the Hat Learning Library: Wish for a Fish by Bonnie Worth (I thought for sure Damien would get bored of these lengthy Cat in the Hat books, but actually he loved them and even Rowen sat still for most of them. It helps that I can read them pretty fast because they rhyme, haha!)
  • National Geographic Kids: Swim, Fish! by Susan B. Neuman
  • Hello, Fish! by Sylvia A. Earle
  • Do You Know about Fish? by Buffy Silverman
  • Fish by Joy Richardson

Week Three: Ocean Creatures

  • Mister Seahorse by Eric Carle (it features ocean dads that take care of their young, which is fun, and also has plastic pages that overlay on two illustrations, which my kids liked and also fought over…)
  • I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry (kids LOVED this one and now we own it.)
  • The Hungriest Mouth in the Sea by Peter Walters (pretty illustrations but my kids found it a bit wordy)
  • The Octonauts and the Only Lonely Monster by Meomi (both my kids are Octonauts fans, and this book has pages taped back into it because it’s been read so much, lol.)
  • Spot the Shark in the Ocean by Stella Maidment (a cute book, but neither of my kids was into the seek and find aspect as much as I thought they’d be. Oh well.)
  • Ocean: A Photicular Book by Dan Kainen/Carol Kaufmann (THIS BOOK IS SO COOL. It’s actually a grown-up book and the text is way too complicated for little kids, but they were mesmerized by the gorgeous lenticular photos – and so was I!)
  • DK Readers: Little Dolphin (it’s sciency but also a story, which my kids liked)
  • Ocean Odyssey by Tony Mitton (this was Damien’s favorite of the week; he liked the silly illustration and the rhyming)
  • Octopuses and Squids by Valerie J. Weber (simple informational book)

Week Four: Whales and Sharks

Leave a Reply

