Rowen’s One Year Photos

About two weeks before Rowen’s birthday I realized I had a rapidly-expiring Groupon to use at a JC Penney photography studio. Originally I was planning on doing brother pictures with both Damien and Rowen, but Damien had VBS that week plus a big bruise on his face, not to mention he told me he didn’t want pictures taken, so I decided we’d make them (slightly early) birthday photos instead.

We went to a different Penney’s this time, in a mall I’d never been to before. I was surprised to find despite its size, this mall had some great stores and restaurants, not to mention a cute play area (which our usual mall is sadly lacking.) The photography studio itself is exactly the same as every other Penney’s studio, but the photographer was so good! She connected with both Rowen and me, and showed creativity despite the more stock setting. Rowen was adorable as usual, and the combination resulted in some pretty stinking adorable birthday pics!

See for yourself:

Outfit #1: Dan's overalls from when he was a kid

Outfit #1: Dan’s overalls from when he was a kid. You can tell that Rowen is flirting with the photographer here 🙂

E15

Hello gorgeous!

E18

Our little chub! He's so adorable!

Those eyelashes! Those cheeks! That little tongue! I can’t even…

Outfit #2: the diaper ;) I bought the balloons from a party store and brought the 'cupcake' (a Melissa and Doug play kitchen set Damien got for his second birthday) from home

Outfit #2: the diaper 😉 (it’s a Fuzzibunz and apparently I like it, because Rowen wore it in his six month photos too. Actually, Damien might have as well.) I bought the balloons from a party store and brought the ‘cupcake’ (a Melissa and Doug play kitchen set Damien got for his second birthday) from home

This is his post-party photo ;)

This is his post-party photo 😉

Once he saw the cupcake, all he wanted to do was take the candle off and put it back on, over and over...

Once he saw the cupcake, all he wanted to do was take the candle off and put it back on, over and over… I love that the photographer went with it, rather than insisting he leave it alone

Smirky face!

Smirky face!

We had photos left at the end of the session and there was no one waiting, so the photographer let me do a third outfit. So dapper!

Outfit #3: the bow tie! We had photos left at the end of the session and there was no one waiting, so the photographer let me do a third outfit. So dapper! (The tie is from Target on clearance, the collared onesie is from Children’s Place and is a hand-me-down, and the shorts are Carter’s.)

E35 - Copy

Little charmer!

E12

The photographer sneakily took this picture when I was helping Rowen stand for the bow tie pictures (he was still a little wobbly on his feet at this point), and I looove it! Even with the chipped nail polish (which was bright pink and matched Damien’s, at his insistence, lol)

(And yes, if you were wondering, I did buy the entire CD… but really, who could blame me?)

Leave a Reply

