College Graduation 2015

Yay, Dan graduated! I am so proud of him. It was so ridiculously difficult, but he got through it.

I didn’t graduate, because I earned a certification, not a degree – I already had my degree from last time. (Dan earned a second degree.) I also have one more quarter of student teaching to do before I am officially done. I did, however, get to take part in a teacher dedication ceremony, and it was really meaningful.

First, our teachers put us on the spot and made us sing.
IMG_20150613_160445935Next our advisers called us up one by one, said something about us, and then had us share either why we wanted to become teachers or an important moment from a teaching experience. Again, this was all 100% on the spot; we had no idea it was going to happen and didn’t plan what to say. But as a group of teachers we’ll all have to be good at winging it, and we all did fine.

IMG_20150613_171028431_HDR

My adviser introducing me. (I brought Rowen for moral support!)

IMG_20150613_171232625

Speaking – Rowen kept waving and trying to grab the mic šŸ™‚ He loves being the center of attention!

At the end we each picked someone to do a prayer of dedication with us, and I chose my mom. Here’s my little group (and obviously we didn’t take this picture; I stole it from the college website.)

puc5

Pretty windows!

puc4I didn’t take hardly any pictures all weekend… because, you know, children… but my mother-in-law got a few:

11428463_1134508269911906_5859479889317876285_n 11390009_1134508296578570_7646449727771916693_nThe next day was the actual graduation ceremony. Luckily the ceremony is held outside (so pretty!) (and big; I don’t think the church would hold everyone) and we live pretty close to Commencement Grove, so Dan walked over early. The rest of us followed later – I was sprinting in wedges pushing two kids in a double stroller down a dirt path, lol. It would have been funny if it weren’t so pathetic. (I don’t have any photos of that, in case you were hoping to laugh at me.)

Everyone in the Class of 2015 (from the PUC website)

Everyone in the Class of 2015 (from the PUC website)

The next three photos are by Marcia. Look at the pretty view:

The teachers walk down in their schmancy robes, which I dubbed as a freshman "Harry Potter Gear" and have called it that ever since. (Educator of the Year Colloquy was Harry Potter Day, because it's the only other day they dress up.)

The teachers walk down in their schmancy robes, which I dubbed as a freshman “Harry Potter Gear” and have called it that ever since. (Educator of the Year Colloquy was Harry Potter Day, because it’s the only other day they dress up.)

Waving 'hi' on the walk down! We didn't get his lei to him in time, so Damien put it around his neck when he walked back. :)

Waving ‘hi’ on the walk down! We didn’t get his lei to him in time, so Damien put it around his neck when he walked back. šŸ™‚

This was our view... You couldn't see much, but it was a lot closer than Dan's previous graduation (which was indoors in basically a sports arena with approximately a gazillion people.)

This was our view… You couldn’t see much, but it was a lot closer than Dan’s previous graduation (which was indoors in basically a sports arena with approximately a gazillion people.)

Afterward, graduates are supposed to hang out with their fellow majors under a tree bearing their name (which is better than when I graduated; we had to sort ourselves by last name which was sad, because we wanted to be with our fellow major friends. This is better.) We fought through the crowd to get the following pictures:

The boys!

Yes, he literally has his hands full (I totally posed this, lol) (also, are my boys not handsome?? Even if they are not smiling/looking at the camera…)

I was NOT going to let this event slip by without a family picture... That does not, however, mean we got a GOOD one. lol

I was NOT going to let this event slip by without a family picture… That does not, however, mean we got a GOOD one. lol

Dan and his mom

Dan and his mom (and a Porta Potty, and possibly a lost tourist who thought she was going wine tasting and ended up at a place very devoid of wine)

After graduation, we had a party! But I can’t seem to track down any photos from said party, so I’ll have to update this part later. (Oh, and for the record, my whole family was at graduation – including sisters/bro-in-law – as were Dan’s dad and brother, but I somehow don’t have photos of those people. They were there, I swear! They’re probably in the party pictures that I don’t have.)

Finally, after everyone left (but my mom, who was staying a week to take classes at the college), we took the little boys on a walk so the big boy could take a well deserved nap. šŸ™‚

I love this picture! We are such cheeseballs :)

I love this picture! We are such cheeseballs šŸ™‚

Damien, attempting to blow a giant dandelion

Damien, attempting to blow a giant dandelion

20150614_175408

“Damien, can you crouch down and take a picture with us?” (Nope.)

Leave a Reply

