We Survived Another Quarter

As of yesterday Dan and I have successfully (at least as far as we know) completed another quarter of College Part 2. That means that Dan is on his last quarter, and I have one more quarter of student teaching after that, which makes this the home stretch I guess. It’s really hard to feel relieved though because we’re both so exhausted. This past quarter was SO HARD. I was really hoping it would be easier and I guess in some ways it was – Rowen was older and Damien for the most part was feeling more comfortable in preschool, so that helped. But my schedule was tough, Dan and I both had a lot of big projects and reading to do, Damien’s beloved teacher left his preschool, we started potty-training (I say ‘we’ because it really is a full family affair, unfortunately)… It all left me feeling completely exhausted and convinced we’d never ever make it. But again we somehow got everything done anyway. (It did require three weeks of very little sleep, which isn’t ideal, but I keep telling myself it will all be worth it in the end.)

So. I may be starting to sound like a broken record but this quarter really will be easier – for me, at least. I’m done with all my required Education classes, so now I’m just taking one required cognate (a religious history class), a P.E. class, and two elementary methods courses to start my duel credential (a duel credential means I could teach grades K-12. At this point I’m just getting a secondary credential in English, meaning I can teach English in grades 6-12, but eventually I’d like to be able to do it all.) This quarter I don’t have a teaching lab and I don’t have the TPA, since I did this quarter’s TPA last spring, so that will save me literally hours of time every week. I’m also not in a history class, which is a bit of a bummer because I love those classes, but also a time-saver because they require a LOT of reading. I’m even thinking of tutoring/aiding at one of the local schools for a few hours of week, just so I keep getting experience (and extra money of course), but that might prove to be too ambitious.

Right now we’re gearing up for Spring Break. I really wanted to be able to get some things done around the house that have been waiting for a spare moment since we moved in nearly eight months ago, and we’re doing a couple day beach camping trip. Above all I’d like to regain some sanity, as well as a few hours of sleep!

Leave a Reply

